Hindsight by Owen Banner @OwenBanner

Five

I, nervously, thumbed the coins in my left hand as I made my way down the sidewalk towards the payphone.

In my right hand, I flipped over the piece of paper that I’d pulled off the suitcase the night before. I had been flipping over the whole idea of this thing since waking up that morning.

As the coins bounced around like pinballs inside the payphone, I asked myself, Shirley, what are you doing?

I couldn’t come up with a straight answer. Money, that’s all I could think of. There was money in that briefcase. This guy, Isaac, had it, I needed it and money can make you do some crazy things.

“This is Isaac,” came the voice on the other end.

“I wanna know what’s goin’ on.”

“Ah, Mr. O’Shea, I was hopin’ you’d call. I take it that you opened the briefcase. You didn’t open the package, did you?”

“No.”

“That’s a good lad.”

That wasn’t exactly true. You see, I had found a package inside the briefcase, wrapped in brown paper. The paper read, “Mr. Lyndon James McAfee, 7 South Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA, 19107.” I scratched the bottom of it just to see what was inside. Nothin’ but an old watch box, but damn, it was heavy for a watch.

“I’ll tell you what, Shirley. There’s a grand Chinese restaurant called ‘The Beijing Duck’ just off of Market Street in Philadelphia. Why don’t you meet me there tomorrow at eleven o’clock in the morning?”

“You better bring some answers.”

“I will, and I’ll see you then, Shirley.”

I pushed the receiver down with my fingers to end the call. Then I replaced them with the phone. What are you doing, Shirley? I asked myself again.

Hindsight

Buy Now @ Amazon

Genre – Thriller

Rating – R

More details about the author

Connect with Owen Banner on Facebook & Twitter

Website http://www.owenbanner.com/

Leave a Reply

